ICSIP 2020 Keynote Speakers

Fellow of IEEE, Prof. Xiaolin Wu, McMaster University, Canada

Xiaolin Wu, Ph.D. in computer science, University of Calgary, Canada, 1988. Dr. Wu started his academic career in 1988, and has since been on the faculty of Western University, New York Polytechnic University (NYU Poly), and currently McMaster University. He holds the NSERC senior industrial research chair in Digital Cinema. His research interests include image processing, computer vision multimedia signal coding and communication, joint source-channel coding, multiple description coding, and network-aware visual communication. He has published over two hundred-sixty research papers and holds five patents in these fields.  Dr. Wu is an IEEE fellow, McMaster Distinguished Engineering Professor, an associated editor of IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, and served on the technical committees of many IEEE international conferences/workshops. Dr. Wu received numerous international awards and honors.

Fellow of IET, Prof. Yao Zhao, Beijing Jiaotong University, China

Yao Zhao received the Ph.D. degree from the Institute of Information Science, Beijing Jiaotong University (BJTU), Beijing, China, in 1996. He became an Associate Professor at BJTU in 1998 and became a Professor in 2001. From 2001 to 2002, he was a Senior Research Fellow with the Information and Communication Theory Group, Faculty of Information Technology and Systems, Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands. In October 2015, he visited the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, Switzerland (EPFL). From December 2017 to March 2018, he visited the University of Southern California. He is currently the Director of the Institute of Information Science, BJTU. His current research interests include image/video coding, digital watermarking and forensics, video analysis and understanding and artificial intelligence.

Dr. Zhao serves on the Editorial Boards of several international journals, including as an Associate Editor of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON CYBERNETICS, an Senior Associate Editor of the IEEE SIGNAL PROCESSING LETTERS, and an Area Editor of Signal Processing: Image Communication. He was named a Distinguished Young Scholar by the National Science Foundation of China in 2010, and was elected as a Chang Jiang Scholar of Ministry of Education of China in 2013. He is a Fellow of the IET.